bonapeti.com»Tips»Does Quinoa Contain Gluten?

Does Quinoa Contain Gluten?

Teodora MeshterovaTeodora Meshterova
Novice
101416
Nadia Galinova
Translated by
Nadia Galinova
Does Quinoa Contain Gluten?

When talking about "super" foods and healthy eating, we can't help but mention quinoa. It contains a lot of fiber and minerals and to the delight of those with gluten intolerance, quinoa is gluten-free.

- Basically, quinoa is a cereal crop, which is grown mainly for its edible seeds. Quinoa seeds have three primary colors - white, red and black;

- In 1 cup of cooked quinoa, which is about 185 grams, you can find 8 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber, 39 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of fat and 222 calories;

- The other thing that quinoa gives us is 58% of the daily dose of manganese, 30% of the daily dose of magnesium, 28% of phosphorus, 19% of folic acid, 18% of copper, 15% of iron, 13% of zinc, 9% of potassium.

- Quinoa contains flavonoids - plant antioxidants. Quinoa also contains the flavonoids kaempferol and quercetin.

- Besides the fact that quinoa does not contain gluten, it is extremely tasty and healthy. So don't worry about eating it. It's perfect for all gluten-free dishes.

If you love quinoa, we recommend trying some of our quinoa recipes like:

- quinoa salad;

- quinoa patties;

- quinoa soup;

Facebook
Favorites
Twitter
Pinterest

Rating

3
Votes: 1
50
40
31
20
10
Give your rating:

Comments

Send